Ian Lowe

Ian Lowe is emeritus professor of science, technology and society at Griffith University, where he was formerly Head of the School of Science. He is also an adjunct professor in public health at Flinders University and in science at University of the Sunshine Coast. He has been a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering since 2005. His publications include 14 books, over 50 chapters, more than 50 journal articles and over 500 conference papers. His most recent book is The Lucky Country? Reinventing Australia, University of Queensland Press 2016.

He has filled many advisory roles to all levels of government. He chaired the advisory council that produced the first national state of the environment report, was the member representing the interests of consumers on the enHealth Council throughout its existence, and a member of the Radiation Health and Safety Advisory Council for twelve years. He was a member of the Expert Advisory Committee to the South Australia Nuclear Royal Commission.

He was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2001 for services to science and technology, especially environmental science. He received in 2000 the Prime Minister’s Environmental Award for Outstanding Individual Achievement and the Queensland Premier’s Millennium Award for Excellence in Science. He was awarded the 2002 Eureka Prize for Promotion of Science and is in demand locally and internationally to analyse and communicate complex issues of risk and environmental health. Last year the Royal Institution (Australia) inducted him as a Bragg Member, joining thirty other distinguished scientific communicators at that level.

In 2009 the International Academy of Sciences, Health and Ecology awarded him the Konrad Lorenz Gold Medal, given once every three years for research that “gives hope for the future for a sustainable world”. He has worked on UNEP projects [Global Environmental Outlook reports, Resource Efficiency and Economic Outlook for the Asia-Pacific], been a referee for the IPCC and the International Geosphere-Biosphere Project, and was a member of the international working group that developed “sustainability science”.